Community Post: #SystemicOppression #BoneMarrowPetition #AMatchForBay

The CSJE blog strives to foster discussion and community among folks invested in exploring the intersection of social justice and higher education. Often, these discussion happen naturally as issues near to our hearts and lives come to light and are shared with friends, colleagues, neighbors, family members, etc. across the globe via social media. I welcome you to read a recent online discussion that occurred in response to one person’s experience trying to donate bone marrow. Blood and bone marrow drives are frequent on our college and university campuses, as are the identities most negatively impacted by this example of systemic oppression. and we encourage you to share your own reactions, suggestions, and questions by commenting below and continuing the conversation.

As seen below, here is the original status that prompted the conversation:

“There is a little boy near where I live who needs a bone marrow transplant. He’s Japanese and German, which is a hard match to find. Turns out I am also Japanese and German (among other things), so I tried to register as a potential donor, but guess what? My perfectly healthy marrow is not acceptable because I’m partnered with a dude. I knew that prevented me from donating perfectly healthy blood, but didn’t realize marrow was on the “no” list, too.
To me, this seems like a good example of how homophobia and heterosexism is actually harmful to everyone, not just us queer-identified folk.”

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

For the purpose of this blog, a community post is one that is primarily written or created from comments or discussions online.

If you are interested in writing for the CSJE blog or creating a community post, please contact us at vguerrero@allegheny.edu and dboneta@nyu.edu.

One thought on “Community Post: #SystemicOppression #BoneMarrowPetition #AMatchForBay

  1. Rebecca L says:

    I think this reaction was in part sparked by my defensiveness/self-consciousness about participating in a system I’ve long known to be heterosexist (donating blood, tissues), but as I read through the post there was something that kept jumping out at me:

    In support of highlighting the absurdity, awfulness, bullshitty-ness, illogic, irrationality, ridiculousness, folly, and ludicrousness of the policy, a handful used the words “insane/insanity” and “crazy” instead of the many options provided by other posters and listed just now.

    I hesitated to post this for over a week b/c I felt I care more about the issue raised than this microaggression. Coming back today, though, the spirit of the post encouraged me to try to start a dialogue.

    My starting point on that is that the policies in question weren’t created & aren’t maintained by people with mental illness – they’re created & maintained by us people (who may or may not have some disabilities) steeped in a heterosexist system.

    Thoughts?

    Like

Leave a Reply

